Dishwasher: Clean or Dirty

Sometimes – like after having pasta with marinara sauce – it’s easy to tell if the dishwasher is clean or dirty.  Other times, you get halfway through emptying the silverware before noticing the dried food on the forks.  Or you have to answer theIs it clean or dirty question twelve times a day.

My sister had a scrap paper with cleanand dirty” scribbled on either side, adhered with a magnet to the dishwasher.  I loved the practicality of that idea, but the “form” wasn’t working for me.  Sure it worked, but it looked sloppy.

And yes, you can buy a special magnetic piggy that tells the tale, but usually those are so country kitchen that I’d prefer the scrap paper.

So here’s a Creative Solution: Make your own Dishwasher Clean/Dirty Magnet.  

Start with your own tastes. We like to play Scrabble, so I liked this idea that I saw on Pinterest:

Except I didn’t like:

  1. Upside down letters (my OCD can’t cope)
  2. Needing to use actual Scrabble tiles… I don’t happen to have those lying around.  They’re either part of an actual game or they’re not in my house.

But what I could do is print a copy of the Scrabble tile letters!  So I Googled images until I found this one.

I printed the image on 5×7 photo paper (at home) and cut out the letters: C-L-E-A-N and D-I-R-T-Y.

From another project, I had some of magnets like these from JoAnn’s or Michael’s or Hobby Lobby:

Using double sided tape, I placed the pictures of the letters in the proper order, taped them to a small piece of printer paper, and then adhered the whole thing to the magnets.  First C-L-E-A-N on one side and then D-I-R-T-Y on the other.  Afterwards, I wrapped the whole thing in some clear packing tape so it has a chance of withstanding the wear and tear of life in our home.

IMG_0732

Of course, I made one for my sister so they could trash the scrap paper, and kept the other for myself.

IMG_0731

My only tip is to arrange the words so the back is upside down… thus when the magnet gets flipped, it is already properly aligned.

So that’s a Creative Solution that doesn’t involve a country kitchen pig.  

Leave a Reply

