Literary Garden Art Sign Post

So after the Creative Solution I made for my parents “You’ve Come A Long Way,” I finally had the materials and focus to complete the Literary Garden Art Sign Post.

IMG_0956

Both my husband and I love to read–a love which we have shared with our boys.  The idea of the Literary Garden Sign Post is to use the fictional locations from stories.

So the first step is to choose the books!  I didn’t want too many signs; I wanted to draw attention to our favorites:

  • Whoville  – Dr. Seuss
  • Rivendell – The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit 
  • The Shire – The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit 
  • Hogwarts – Harry Potter
  • The Emerald City – Wizard of Oz
  • Pern – Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern
  • Narnia – C.S. Lewis
  • Camelot
  • 100 Acre Woods – Winnie the Pooh

In the “Cities/Distance” sign, I didn’t worry about a special font, but one of the unique features of the Literary Garden Art Sign is that each imitates the font from the book cover (or map).

Using scrap wood, a base coat of latex (because that’s what we had out), and random acrylic colors, I prepped the boards.

Place Signs2

Since Pinterest and Google both have several versions available, there are options…

  • Print each sign and mod podge it on
  • Create/use stencils
  • Hand painted imitating the desired font

I toyed with the idea of mod podging, but hand painting with the “homemade look” is more my style. So using Font Space, I found several fun fonts that looked the part.  I didn’t love the Dr. Seuss style font they had, but Melissa at Keep Calm and Decorate did a similar project and suggested this Grinch font, which I loved!

I printed the text and did my best to hand paint, imitating the font style.

IMG_0917

Finished with varnish and attached to a pole in the back yard.

IMG_0955

And I love the finished product!

IMG_0956

2 thoughts on “Literary Garden Art Sign Post

  1. Pingback: Where no girl has gone before |

  2. Pingback: Sommarlov | (inte så) Anonyma Biblioholister

Leave a Reply

