Travel Mugs

I am an avid hot-tea drinker, averaging 4-6+ cups a day (a tea snob, really, but that’s another post).  I’m also a frugal problem-solver.  I’ve been making (and carrying) my own tea in travel mugs for a while.  But I’m also a little on the clumsy side.  And I spill things A LOT.  So I needed a Creative Solution for a Spill-Proof Travel Mug.  

IMG_0622

The Contigo Travel Mug is truly one of my favorite things.  People who have them rave about them in cult-like fashion.  I have four of the 16 ounce travel mugs; my husband has two.  I drink twice as much tea as he drinks coffee.

Why I love Contigo Travel Mugs:

  • They do not leakIMG_0623
  • They are dishwasher safe.
    • The lid is 100% dishwasher safe.  No valve to clean or gasket to worry about ruining.
    • It’s recommended that you hand wash the bottom so that the color doesn’t chip off the mug.  Notice the chipped paint on the red mug?  That’s from 2 or 3 years in the dishwasher, which doesn’t bother me at all.  So putting the whole thing in the dishwasher may affect its aesthetic beauty, but not its function.
  • They keep hot stuff hot for a really long time.
  • They also keep cold stuff cold.
  • Sometimes we like to bring an adult beverage to the pool in the summer… or the park… or wherever… and in the Contigo travel mug offers a multi-faceted Creative Solution on this front.

Amazon has them in a variety of colors, so when I prepare my different varieties of tea, I know which flavor is in which mug.  And/or (gasp!) how to tell the difference between my tea and my husband’s coffee.  The lids are also color coded, so his coffee stained lid doesn’t ever touch my lips.  

Amazon offers single 16oz mugs for $20, single 20 oz mugs for $22   or a two-pack of the 16 oz for $38.95.

Tea Caddy

IMG_0620So because I’m me, I have a designated little tote to carry all my tea mugs.

I use a cute, fun, and functional “Littles Carry-All Caddy” from ThirtyOne for $12 (plus shipping; and you can get it monogrammed if you’d like).

If you’re interested in this handy little tote, may I recommend my friend Stephanie, who is a ThirtyOne consultant.

IMG_2256

I have a few of these Carry-All Caddies… One hangs on a hook by my back door with all the sunscreen and bug spray bottles.  When we went camping, we used one to hold the toilet paper, towel, and handsoap as a “bathroom caddy.”  They’re just the perfect size and shape.

2 thoughts on “Travel Mugs

Leave a Reply

