Halloween Craft: Carnival Cans

I’ve been intrigued by this old-school carnival “Knock Down the Cans” game, which uses recycled materials, since I first saw the Halloween Cans on Pinterest two years ago.  So I finally sat down to follow through on doing it this week.  The Pinterest link is broken, so I just went with the images and did my own thing.

IMG_0151Honestly, it required a bit more effort than I imagined, simply because the cans required 3 to 4 coats of paint.  While I do use cheap acrylic paints, four coats is a lot.

  • Save and clean at least six 28 ounce cans.
  • Decide on your painting scheme, and apply the whole base coat in that color until you no longer see the can. (Like I said, it took me 3 to 4 coats.)  Definitely use acrylic paint;tempra will flake off.  Be sure to let it dry completely between coats
    • Orange for pumpkins
    • White for ghosts
    • Green for Frankenstein’s Monster
    • Purple (or lavender) for Dracula
    • (not pictured) Black for Cats
    • (not pictured) Brown or Red for Owls
  • Add decorative details… let it dry.
  • Spray finish in Rust-oleum Crystal Clear Enamel (note: if you don’t do this finishing spray, the cans will quickly chip, and the color won’t be as bright… trust me: you want to do the finishing spray).

IMG_0149 IMG_0136

Total time: 2 – 3 hours, paced over the course of a few days.  Cost: $0 (because I had all the paint and finishing spray on hand).

I plan on using this game at a Halloween party we have with family friends before trick-or-treating, but decided to test it out one afternoon that my boys had a friend over.  This old school fun was a HUGE hit!  Definitely worth the time to create.

Leave a Reply

